I refuse to be celery (edited)

“Awesome things will happen today if you choose to not be a miserable cow!”

-Writer Unknown

Whelp, it’s official! I weigh the most I have ever weighed! Granted, I semi-just had a child (about a year ago) so maybe that’s it! It could also be that it’s still winter and I’m rocking that after Christmas gut. Or perhaps, it’s the 3 doughnuts I ate yesterday.  When changing my shirt this morning, I caught a glimpse of myself in the mirror that was actually quite frightening. Don’t get me wrong, I’m still awesome and absolutely beautiful but ugh, I have some major work to do on myself.  My stomach and thighs resemble the celery stalk in the plant/red food coloring experiment.  You know the one where you see how plants can absorb water by putting a celery stalk into a cup of red water and watch the red lines creep up the stalk. Yeah, my body looks like that! Stupid stretch marks.

I can’t believe how easy it is to let yourself go. It doesn’t help that I have a supportive husband that makes it his obligation to tell me how gorgeous I am on a daily basis, and of course, it’s always appreciated.  But looking in the mirror is making me realize that I’m not young anymore. I don’t have a metabolism that I used to have, and dammit, I need to stop eating 3 doughnuts in one day!

So, I decided that since we did pretty well on our taxes, some new work out equipment needs to be purchased instead of that Napa Valley trip I so badly want to take. No more excuses or magic pills that will melt away the pounds. I need to be disciplined and get my butt on the elliptical! Ok, after work I am buying one!  This is my written testimony. I Megan Rohan, will wear a bathing suit (not bikini) this summer and in order to do that, I need to work out! And who knows, maybe If I get drunk enough off of my Cooper’s Hawk wine, then I’ll just think I’m in Napa. And yes, I know there is fattening sugar in wine and but I’m not trying to move mountains, just trying to drop a couple pounds.

7 thoughts on “I refuse to be celery (edited)

  1. I literally laughed out loud! You are an inspired writer! The celery stalk analogy?!?! Perfection! This summer we will celebrate with that wine, sugar be damned!

    Like

Leave a Reply

