The Twitches

Taking crazy things seriously is a serious waste of time.”

-Haruki Murakami

Having been out for almost a week  from work and from the slice challenge, it was a pleasant surprise to come back and find out that third quarter is ending on Wednesday. I really needed to hear that there is only 10 Mondays left of school. I love my students, I swear I do but being a special education teacher can sometimes be very trying on my patience. Since having a baby, I feel that I do a pretty decent job at not taking things my students say  or do too personally…or at least I can talk myself into thinking that he or she may not know any better. But no matter how hard I try, I cannot stop the third quarter twitch in my left eye that I get every year which doesn’t seem to go away until the second week of summer vacation. It’s like the twitch is saying, “They may not know what you’re thinking about them or their behavior, but I do.” I just want to tell my left eye to shut up but I fear that if someone else hears me yelling at myself, the bus will be coming for me and I will be committed somewhere dark and full of eye twitchers! I feel like Lisa Turtle in that Saved by the Bell episode where she can’t stop the eye twitch when Screech is around. I just hope my eye twitch also results in a first place dance routine known as The Sprain instead of any reprimanding or meetings about rooms for improvement for me as an educator with my superiors!

4 thoughts on “The Twitches

  1. Hahahahaha. Count down and twitch away is what I think. Can’t pretend it’s all rainbows and forever impact having kinds of days. There’s a lot of 3rd quarter twitching all around right know from what I hear. Spring break will fix that up just right. Maybe you’ll be able to take the baby sledding… Solid Lisa Turtle reference btw.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

